Freshly installed sink basin and faucet leaking. Help

Users who are viewing this thread

MaRisaJ

Reaction score
This is my first project beyond replacing the toilet innards. I’m doing my best.

I bought a Glacier Bay vanity with Sinktop and a Glacier bay faucet. Everything is working fine on the water supply side but now I can’t get the drain to stop leaking.

I put silicone under the drain flange.
I tightened the rubber washer and lock nut.
After reading some threads here, I put some plumbers putty on the threads.

There is still a drip. In one picture you can see my finger pointing to where the drip is. I tried to put some plumbers putty on there, but then from reading replies in other threads it’s seemed like that was a big no to have it on the rubber washer.

Let me know if you need different pictures. Thanks in advance.

Attachments

• 8DBB1D34-E382-4EB3-BBF6-9973048B3513.jpeg
    8DBB1D34-E382-4EB3-BBF6-9973048B3513.jpeg
    42.6 KB · Views: 537
  • 3FE48BE4-9935-4B75-8EBB-30D03F5BE8AC.jpeg
    3FE48BE4-9935-4B75-8EBB-30D03F5BE8AC.jpeg
    36.2 KB · Views: 444
  • D54789BE-1E86-4880-B3EF-9CCA52B9C8DB.jpeg
    D54789BE-1E86-4880-B3EF-9CCA52B9C8DB.jpeg
    44.6 KB · Views: 463

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
I use a stainless putty on the threads where the rubber washers slide over. I don't putty the rubber washer, I'm just trying to prevent water from rolling down the threads behind the rubber washer. Sometimes pipe dope works there. And sometimes if the casting on the lav is too rough and that is also an issue, I resort to Silicone and swear a bit.

I miss the brass drains that were so much easier to seal. With those a bit of pipe dope or putty on the threads and I was good to go.

WorthFlorida

Clinical Trail on a Cancer Drug Started 1/31/24. ☹
Solutions
Reaction score