Working with black gas pipe when to stop tightening

Users who are viewing this thread

sschoe2

Reaction score
Someday I am going to have to replace my water heater and want to be ready. I live in Illinois and the stupid code won't let me use the yellow flex lines. I've never worked with black gas pipe before. I work with gas lines at work (Gas Chromatography Chemist) but it is all 1/16", 1/8", or 1/4" steel or copper with swagelok fittings. One thing I can't figure out is when you have a fitting like an elbow or valve that has to be in the exact correct orientation how do you know when to stop turning rather than go for a full additional rotation.

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
One thing I can't figure out is when you have a fitting like an elbow or valve that has to be in the exact correct orientation how do you know when to stop turning rather than go for a full additional rotation.

It's a feel thing. It helps when you have done a few to know how far they thread in and how tight it feels. You may want to practice with some that you're not using to see how far they thread in.
And every pipe nipple is threaded slightly different.

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score