Brand new Drake owner here

Users who are viewing this thread

MaintenanceMan

In the Trades
Reaction score
I found this forum while doing some research online for a new toilet. I have to say I never thought I would find myself so interested in water closets. I'm a maintenace man in southern IN and am currently finishing an addition to my house. I have about ten years experience, prior to my current job, in HVAC.

About 5-6 years ago I remodeled our only bathroom and then installed a Briggs Vacuity. It's always flushed well for us, but twice now the inner tank started to leak. Just recently it stopped flushing properly. I decided I was already tired of it, started looking around, found this site, Installed a Drake two days ago. Thus far we're pretty happy. We're in the process of putting it through it's paces.:)

We're not quite far enough along with our addition to install another WC yet, but assuming we are satisfied with the Drake, we will most likely be putting another in soon. In our current bath the WC is right next to a supply register that caused our antique, pink, crane toilet to sweat profusely. The Briggs didn't do this because of the plastic liner inside the tank. When I talked to our Toto dealer they said Toto didn't have insulated tanks. I was able to inform them (thanks to this site) that they in fact did and was even able to tell them the # to look for. They said they wouldn't be able to order one until after the first of the year. So I brought home a non-insulated tank hoping that the fact it doesn't use all the water in the tank would help it not sweat.