Users who are viewing this thread

kingtut68

Reaction score
I just bought my first house back in May. I immediately had issues with the water and water pressure. The water is acidic (pH = 6.2) and I have copper pipes plus the pressure is ridiculously low (haven't tested the psi just yet). Anyways, I've already purchased an acid neutralizer for the pH (not yet installed) and now I'm considering a water pressure booster pump. This would not be DIY job for me. I'd more than likely get a family friend to do it since I have no plumbing experience. Here are my questions:

A.) Where would this booster pump be installed? I don't know where my water main is. The water meter is out by the road. I don't have a basement. Not sure where water enters the house. My hot water heater is in the laundry room but it's small and there really aren't any other pipes and valves and such. I do have a crawlspace on the back side of the house.

B.) Assuming the water enters the house near that crawlspace... Can a water pressure booster pump be installed outside? Or are they indoor only?

C.) How noisy are they? I don't want to trade one problem for another.

D.) Any tips or suggestions before purchasing one? I have no experience with these things or plumbing in general. Making an effort to do my research now.

Thanks everyone!

EDIT:

E.) How do you power these things, especially if it's outdoors (if that's even an option)?

Reach4

Reaction score
City water? If so, I would have a chat with the water department to see what they intend to do about corrosion and pH.

Well? Tell us about your well and well pump.

kingtut68

Reaction score
City water? If so, I would have a chat with the water department to see what they intend to do about corrosion and pH.

Well? Tell us about your well and well pump.