Two dishwashers one drain-no disposal

Users who are viewing this thread

candinr

Reaction score
Because our old sink cracked, we're having to replace it, possibly with a one bowl design. My question is, is there a good way to hook two dishwashers to one drain without a disposal? I've seen one suggestion to maybe, possibly use two wye pieces but our p-trap isn't low enough in the wall for that and I don't want to spend $400 to have it lowered. Also, I read that the drain should be increased to at least 2". From what I can find, there isn't. Thanks!

Reach4

Reaction score
You said a good way. https://airgap.com/product/ag200-004/
Good way would imply an air gap. :D

air-gap-dual-2.jpg

Two inputs, one output.

Last edited by a moderator:

candinr

Reaction score
We have 2 high loops that works fine. I'm not a professional by any means but what does the air gap have to do with the water draining into one drain vs the 2 like it is now?

Last edited:

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
The dual air-gap takes two dishwasher drains and combines them into one. The 7/8" hose from the air-gap can then go to a single drain below the sink or to a disposer.

sink_dw.jpg

Like this except they also make a dual-air-gap that combines two drains into one.

Last edited:

candinr

Reaction score
Thank you for the info guys. I always thought the air gap was just for venting, like you would vent a sink drain. From what I read water should only flow out of the air gap if there is a clog, correct? and if I were to run both dishwashers at the same time (which we rarely do) the water will drain properly? I just want to make sure we're making the right decision if we have to end up with a single bowl sink. I'm making a big deal out of this because we're having to get a custom sink, paid for by our cracked sink's manufacturer (IKEA) because the dimensions are not standard and the sink is no longer available. Thanks again.

Reach4

Reaction score