Shower faucet spins all the way around but won't come off

Users who are viewing this thread

SKJJ

Reaction score
Hello - I'm a newbie to any kind of DIY or handywork so apologies if this is a dumb question.

We rent so I don't know the details of model etc - basically trying to figure out if this is a problem I can fix myself with basic tools/knowledge or if I need to pass the problem over to my landlord.

Our shower faucet on the cold side has come unseated and the dial just spins around (the cold water is permanently off). I tried to unscrew from the base and this works fine at first but after about half an inch I start to encounter resistance (at that point the dial stops moving independently) and eventually it becomes nearly impossible to turn further. I am hesitant to push it further at that point since I don't want to risk snapping something off and making it worse. (ie I havent tried using anything to force it further than I can do by hand yet).

It's a bit of an odd set-up - three dials, the middle of which controls the shower/bath water flow, and then the faucet stopper which does the same thing. I've attached a photo of how things sit. Any help or advice is appreciated, and I'm fairly clueless (as I'm sure was made obvious above) so don't hesitate to give really obvious advice! Thanks in advance!

image.jpg

ShowerDude

Showers
Reaction score
Looks outdated and non pressure balanced?

If you have a rental contract, read it.

Most have a clause as to enforce that the "Tenant" cannot touch or repair anything without consent. specifically PLUMBING without having flood insurance or a plumbers license.

Secondly say your tinkering with it and !bam! you spring a leak........do you even know where your shutoff is?

now you are liable for a flood restoration bill and open to lawsuit.

Call your landlord and request a licensed plumber........