Shallow well pump to submersible questions

Users who are viewing this thread

AndrewM

Reaction score
New member here. Ive read a lot of posts here in the past and in researching the project outlined below. I've got a 14 year old shallow well pump (1/2 hp) that started leaking a few weeks ago. The leak actually healed itself, but I'm not expecting it to last. Since purchasing this place 4 years ago I've been wanting to switch to a submersible pump. This leak has finally got the ball rolling. Our well is 87 feet of 4" galvanized casing. Static water level of 21' with one foot of drawdown at 50 gpm. All that info is from original paperwork circa 1973. We've got a 52 gal pressure tank and 30/50 switch. The current pump just doesn't have much capacity. It will run nonstop to supply two showers with measly pressure, nevermind watering the garden! I haven't checked for sure but I'm estimating 2-3 gpm max.
Ive got extensive DIY plumbing experience but this is my first attempt on the supply side. Ive got most of the project planned out already, including running electric to the well head. I just received shipment of a Grundfos 1/2 hp 3" well pump (115v) model 10SQ05-160. I really wanted to stick with 115v so I can power it with inverter generator if needed.
First actual question: I ordered a SS check valve to install directly above the pump before I realized this pump has a valve built-in. I read the sticky thread above about the disadvantages of multiple check valves. Should I return this valve or just install it immediately above the pump as intended? Most of the above thread seemed to refer to check valves above the water level.
I will have more questions I'm sure but that's all for now.

Valveman

Cary Austin
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
cyclestopvalves.com