PVC pipe separated, can I just clean it and glue it back together?

Users who are viewing this thread

Dave Mescher

Reaction score
My plumbing experience has been limited to replacing some of the hardware in my toilet tank, and fixing a leaky trap (by replacing the trap, sink faucet, and drain pipe to the wall). I haven't worked with PVC pipe at all (yet).
Apologies if I misuse any terms, I'm not a plumber by trade.

In any case, the PVC drain pipe from one half of my sink has separated at the L-joint. There is some pipe between the now-open joint, and the sink itself.
The glue? that is exposed on the pipe attached to the sink appears black (the surface is rough to the touch), I don't know the state of the glue on the inside of the L-joint, although the surface seemed smooth when I stuck my finger in there. Said finger didn't come back with any interesting slime, I don't know the color of the pipe's surface inside of the joint.
There is a gap now, making for a mess when we use that half of the sink.
I don't see any other leaks at this time.

So, do I need to replace all the PVC pipe from the garbage disposal to the sink, or can I just sand both parts of the separated joint, apply solvent, and liberally apply cement?

Also, I'm seeing online that one should use PVC glue on PVC pipe, and CPVC glue on CPVC pipe. How do I tell the differences between the two?

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
Drains lines in white are PVC, so that would take PVC glue.
You can also install tubular fittings which use slip joint nuts and washers. You don't need glue for those.
How did those fittings separate? Normally the glued fittings are permanent.

disposer-piping-change-5.jpg

Last edited:

Dave Mescher

Reaction score
Drains lines in white are PVC, so that would take PVC glue.
You can also install tubular fittings which use slip joint nuts and washers. You don't need glue for those.