Boiler leaking through side.

Users who are viewing this thread

Kaspars

Reaction score
Dear Gentlemen,

I'll be short: I'm not very knowledgeable in the boiler side of things, although I'm technically inclined and am reading up on boilers as we speak.

I have an acute problem, that I have to fix miself due to budgeting issues - I can't afford to change the boiler or anything of the sort.
Look at this image:

boiler-leaking.jpg

You may notice the small rusty bottom region - I've noticed the boiler is leaking there, quite rapidly so - right now averaging around 1 drop/sec. I'm guessing the water is seeping through the sides.

Now I doubt I can fully fix the problem, but I have to postpone it somehow, even if just for a few months. The question is, how idiotic an idea is just gluing the leak off (with epoxy resin or something)? As I'm not an expert in this field, I was hoping someone here could tell me if I'm risking something horrible.

I totally understand that it's not a long term solution, but it sure as hell is cheap and may postpone the problem long enough for a better option to become available.

Here's all the information I could read from the boiler side, in case that's useful and easy to parse. Some I couldn't read, as it has eroded off:
ariston
MPa 0,8(bar8) 195
modPRO ECO 1(6)0 h 1,8K PL
Fe+enamel
vv1800 v~230 50/60 hz ipx1

I'll be most grateful for any tips and ideas.
Cheers!
-Kaspars.

WorthFlorida

Clinical Trail on a Cancer Drug Started 1/31/24. ☹
Solutions
Reaction score
Cannot make sence of the picture. Is it upright, on the floor, on the wall, on the ceiling? Need more pictures with a wider view.

Looks like that is a doorway below, this could be just the expansion tank. If it is look at the inlet pipe from the boiler, it could be leaking from there. It doesn't look like it is coming from the seam. The rust is nothing more than surface rust.

Dana

In the trades
Reaction score