Sidework?

Users who are viewing this thread

enriquehobart

Plumber
Reaction score
I am an apprentice. I currently do sidework in what I choose to call the beginning Handyman level. I have been in the Plumbing trade for 1 year 3 months.

I want to know if I should add some Plumbing services to my current services or just wait until I have more experience as a Plumber before doing so.

1) Add some easy Plumbing services? Which ones?

2) Wait it out a while.

Thank you in advance.

Jimbo

Plumber
Reaction score
You didn't mention what type of company is your "day job". They are sometimes not thrilled about your side jobs.

enriquehobart

Plumber
Reaction score
They are a Plumbing Company. The parameters to work within are: Do not use company resources or do business with existing clients. I do not believe this would be a big deal to the boss as long as this did not interfere with work flow and did not become the topic of all conversations.

Kordts

In the Trades
Reaction score
In Illinois it is illegal to do side jobs. A plumber can only plumb for a registered contractor. The problem with doing siders is that you are doing it at below market rates, which then makes it hard on the legit contractors to charge what they need to survive and prosper. Say your shop needs to charge 100 bucks an hour, you come along and charge 30. Now what happens when they call a legit plumber and expect to pay 30 an hour? The customer thinks they are getting screwed and all plumbers end up looking bad. Don't do it.

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
sidejobs

I would terminate any employees doing side jobs. Either they think I am not paying them enough, or I am charging too much. Most contractors would do the same thing, and any union worker found doing sidejobs would be disciplined.

GameGod

Reaction score
enriquehobart said: