Which BrassCraft To Get - Replacing Valves

Users who are viewing this thread

Johndoejohndoes

Reaction score
I'm looking to remove and replace the cheap Accor FlowTite Shut Off Valves at my toilets/sink and I'm trying to determine which BrassCraft will suit me best.

I have PEX in my house - does anyone have recommendations on which part I should get from Home Depot?

I'm not very experienced so I may be buying the parts and asking a plumber to come out and replace all 10...unless you think I can accomplish myself.

Thanks

Attachments

• IMG_4968.JPG
    IMG_4968.JPG
    43.7 KB · Views: 1,002

Jadziedzic

Reaction score
I'd stay away from the Brasscraft valves sold at Home Depot - they're low-end "quarter-turn" non-ball valves. Look into Dahl brand valves, well-made by our neighbor to the north for not much more than the HD junk; Supply House (.com) is one source.

Johndoejohndoes

Reaction score

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
The issue with Sharkbite fittings (including their valves) is that they use SS teeth to hold it in position on the pipe/tubing. This means that it can turn on the pipe, unlike one that is soldered on, or a properly installed compression fitting. That doesn't make them bad, and in the case of a toilet, it won't be used on a daily basis, so you probably won't ever run into a problem. When turning the valve on/off, just be conscious of the fact that you want to avoid also turning it on the pipe.

Johndoejohndoes

Reaction score
That is a good valve if you will have enough PEX for it to grab onto.