What constitutes a "properly installed CSV"?

Users who are viewing this thread

Kikaroo

Reaction score
Forgive me if this question is unclear due to poor terminology. I'm new to pumps but am under the gun to get a new system installed. We currently have a Red Jacket "Submerga" 3 HP single phase pump sitting at 545 ft in a 560 ft well. It was installed in 1977 using a traditional installation (no CSV, no VFD) and has been running ever since. We worry it will fail soon due to its age and the fact that the tank is shot.

So I'm torn. On the one hand, I find the explanations of how a CSV works very compelling, along with the arguments for prolonged pump longevity. On the other, in discussion with a pump company that is NOT trying to sell me a VFD (they've quoted me for a traditional pump install, but have a VFD option if I want it) I'm told that they don't deal with CSVs due to reliability problems they've encountered with pump systems using a CSV. This particular company rep indicated that he encountered roughly a 20% fail rate (of the motor or some other component in the system) before he stopped installing them; but it also appears that use of a CSV does not affect the pump warranty.

For instance: the aforementioned pump dealer said that in one installation, the use of a CSV put so much pressure on PVC piping that that the pipe failed. The lesson I take from this is: use galvanized piping with a CSV. He also indicated that in his experience motors tended to fail early when used with a CSV; but he didn't know of any correlations with, say, pump or motor manufacturer. In my opinion, this particular rep seems knowledgeable: he understands the benefits of a CSV and the problems with a traditional install that it solves, but his practical experience has compelled him to avoid CSVs.