Water Heater Valve and Other Questions

Users who are viewing this thread

Bryan

Reaction score
To preface this, I just purchased my first home. This is my first post and I really hope you guys can help with my problem. I'm pretty new to general home repairs, but tend to be pretty good with general DIY so long as I do some research first.

My new home has a gas water heater. There seems to be a good amount of sediment buildup in the bottom, so I need to flush it. I have run into two separate problems with what I thought was going to be easy maintenance.

1) There is no shutoff on the water line flowing directly into the water heater. The only shutoff I have been able to find in the house besides in the bathroom is at the street. I planned to turn the gas to vacation and open the valve and let it drain for a while. I know this wouldn't be a perfect method, but thought it would help until I'm able to install a valve.

2) I can't figure out the drain valve. Theres no handle to turn. There seems to be a pipe nipple coming out of the bottom of the tank, then a plastic piece with male garden hose threads. I'm afraid that turning the plastic fitting itself will just allow water to flow between it and the nipple. I tried to barely crack it open, but was unable to by hand. I don't want to break anything by using tools.

Any tips on what to do? Attaching a couple of pictures for reference.
20200217_203452.jpg
20200217_203438.jpg

Last edited:

Bryan

Reaction score
P.S. I found a .pdf of the manual and it wasn't any help. The diagram shows that it should have a gate valve at the bottom, but it doesn't.

Reach4

Reaction score
1. You can leave the water pressure on, and open the valve to release a few gallons. Connect a hose first to direct the water.

2. To open that valve, turn the knob CCW. Maybe a turn or two.

Those can be replaced with better drain valves.