Submersible pump start often

Users who are viewing this thread

thibod

Reaction score
Hey guys, I have notice lately that my submersible pump has a very short cycle. the pressure is 30/80. when we use the shower, it take about 10 sec to drop to 30psi and then the pump start for about 3 sec to bring the psi to 80 again. there is no lost of pressure if nobody is using water in the house. my well is 100' deep and was told that I was on a good vain. my house is 7 year old. My holding thank is about 10-15 gallon, (fiberglass) was new type 7 years ago. and she appears to be full of water. Does anybody know what could be the cause of this. I have very little knowledge in plumbing.

when we are drawing a bath for the kid and the pump kick's in, the water pressure increase at the faucet as well. which would let me think that there is plenty of water in the well. I am just worried about the short cycle

thanks

Reach4

Reaction score
What do you know about your pump?

My holding thank is about 10-15 gallon, (fiberglass) was new type 7 years ago. and she appears to be full of water.
I expect you are referring to the pressure tank. If so, it would have a valve that is like a tire valve on the top. It was probably undersized from the beginning. While adjusting the precharge could possibly help, if you have a conventional setup, you should probably have a bigger pressure tank anyway. Adding air can work around a failed tank to gain you some time.

Can you post brand and model info for what you have? Do you have space for a bigger pressure tank? Well-X-Trol is the top brand. Not cheap. For longer life, you do want a tank that uses a diaphragm rather than a bladder. You cannot tell by looking.