Simple Reason why DIY shouldn’t DIY.

Users who are viewing this thread

JoeJee

HVAC Contractor
Reaction score
I’m an HVAC tech so do some plumbing but not much. I got a new filtration system for my well (water softener, UV, new sediment filters...) So yesterday I started with moving over the pressure tank to make room. Got everything unhooked and hooked back up getting ready for the first pressure check before going further. This took forever that was expected. Pressurized the line and great, none of my connections leak but why am I seeing a drip of water. Silly elbow had a manufacturing defect and had a hairline crack. Fine, pull it all apart but the nipple stayed in the elbow... It was my only short nipple.

I was able to get one but I was cutting it close and risked not having water for the night/weekend. Lowe’s only showed they had one 1” nipple.

So, if someone is on the fence about doing their own water line, sometime it would be worth it to hire it out knowing their truck has all the extra parts of something goes wrong.

A31C2D37-4CB2-4680-8FB1-898222ADC268.jpeg

0F73A128-5189-4221-97D1-E1FEDF3B849F.jpeg

Sylvan

Still learning
Reaction score
I had my van filled with fittings from 1/8 -2" TP copper adapters, black fittings for gas work, toilet repair parts including ball cocks, and Sloan Royal flushmeters and cable machines plus B@G Cirerculators, air vents steam, and HW and radiator valves from 1/2 -2"

Because I overloaded the Ford Super duty I had the rear end replaced 3 times and managed to get 5 MPG

When I decided to stop working every day I retired the van with 17,000 miles on the van

Bought brand new in 2002 retired in 2015

I saved a fortune avoiding traveling to and from supply houses

Jeff H Young

In the Trades
Reaction score
hiring professionals to come out and do work is very expensive, the guy you get might be a hack and screw everything up , or be beyond expensive and be what I concider unethical crook. or a great mechanic with fair prices!