Rotation Valves- Rule of Thumb- Knowing by Feel if They are Open or Closed

Users who are viewing this thread

brcidd

Reaction score
I am a retired Automotive Engineer. When I was a college Co-op back in the late 70's I was mentored by an ex-Navy technician who taught me a very important "Rule of Thumb" when dealing with rotational valves- which is "Whenever you open a rotational valve- you never hold it tight against the open stop, but always hit the ccw stop and turn back a quarter turn" This is so the next guy (or you in several yrs) will always know by feel if that valve is open or closed. If it is loose- it is open and if it is tight it is closed- simple as that! I can't tell you how many times I have had to try to move a valve not knowing if it is already open or closed because someone before me does not apply this concept. Heck, I have had to use channel locks on a fully opened valve to turn it away from the open stop, because someone else butted it up tight against the open stop. The flow difference between 100% open and 99% open is negligible! So this "Navy" concept is well worth engraining in anyone who deals with rotational valves! Seems, I have trouble making even experienced "Valve Salesman" understand this concept. Numerous technicians seem to not grasp onto it. So does the plumbing community use this? Is it a common concept to those who deal with it daily? Or am I all washed up? Thanks for reading my rant.
P.S I'd love to give this concept a name, if it doesn't have one already, any ideas?

GReynolds929

Reaction score
I always do this with any multi turn valve, it really does make a difference.

Reach4

Reaction score