Replacing old system that came with the house. Need advice/opinion...

Users who are viewing this thread

mbg225

Reaction score
So I have been observing this forum for a few months now and I must say what a great group of people/forum. So helpful in my decision making for a new softener to replace the old system that came with the house.

I pulled out the old system today. I thought it was two carbon tanks with a cartridge filter in between (there is no salt with this system). When I dumped it out I found on carbon system in a vortech tank and I have no idea what was in the second tank. The second tank dumped out white resin looking products, no more than a 1/2 cuft max and they were pure white. Any Idea what this was?

I am on city water and my hardness is 270ppm. What should it be after I install my new system? The new system is a 48,000 fleck 5800sxt with upflow carbon tank. Also, should I put a filter in between the carbon tank and the softener?

Reach4

Reaction score
I am on city water and my hardness is 270ppm. What should it be after I install my new system?
Under 17.
The new system is a 48,000 fleck 5800sxt with upflow carbon tank.
I expect that is downflow for the carbon tank in service, but backwashing itself is upflow.
Also, should I put a filter in between the carbon tank and the softener?
Some prefer one after the softener. I am not sure which is best.

Bannerman

Reaction score
my hardness is 270ppm.
Did you obtain that number using a TDS meter?

Any Idea what this was?
Much of Florida experiences a Tannin problem so the media could possibly be for that issue. How old was the system and has the home always been on municipal water?

with upflow carbon tank.
Does the carbon tank utilize a backwash control valve, or is it a simple In/Out head that doesn't backwash?

mbg225

Reaction score
Yes, I used an electronic TDS meter....Not sure how old the system is....there is no backwash control valve, simply in and out bypass head/valve.

ditttohead