PVC pipe outside of house keeps overflowing

Users who are viewing this thread

BobtheBuilder1234

Reaction score
First off, I am not a professional plumber.

Here is the situation. Outside of my house there are two PVC pipes. Each has its own separate location. One is to the left of the side door on the house and the other is on the back of the house. Both pipes are no more than 1" away from the house.

The pipe I am concerned about is the one in the back of the house. The PVC pipe isn't connected to any other pipes. It just sits in the ground about 5" deep, with another inch or so above ground. The pipe has an inch gap on the side closest to the house. This gap runs from the top of the pipe to the bottom. This pipe constantly keeps filling up with water and it overflows onto the back patio and makes it look as though it had been raining outside, although that isn't the case.

Yesterday, I pumped all of the water out of the PVC pipe to see what would happen and sure enough within a couple of hours it was full again and overflowing. About two inches down from where the bottom rows of brick on the house, I could feel a small hole on the side of the house in which water seemed to be leaking out of, but it wasn't like there was a pipe there.

If no one knows what this is off the top of their head, then I will try to provide pictures because I have no clue what this is for. Our last water bill was not out of the norm, but this overflow of water has just started recently, so it might show up on the next bill.

Thanks for any help.

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
If it's a 4" pipe, it may be for draing the gutters, or for ground water.

Have you looked at your water meter to see if that is moving?
A leaking water main could be filling the pipes.

If you post a picture, use 800 pixels or less.

BobtheBuilder1234

Reaction score