Noisy exhaust AO Smith Vertex 100K

Discussion in 'Water Heater Forum, Tanks' started by PlumberJohn, Jul 18, 2021.

1. PlumberJohn

PlumberJohn New Member

I put in a replacement Vertex heater after 14 years life with the old one. After about 6 months I noticed a bubbling noise outside. It almost sounded like it was popping and for a better word farting. Well as a retired plumber I put it off and told my wife I’d look at it. Well it finally started to annoy me as well! So down to the basement I went, I loosen the clamps on the exhaust tee and find this! It appears to me to be pieces of a dip tube, is this part of the heater? Has anyone else ever seen this before?

5B60FC16-E47C-41C5-B62B-81B80ACC79A9.jpeg 18CCABB4-CFB1-4DAC-AC6E-02C2F4DB60A5.jpeg 5B60FC16-E47C-41C5-B62B-81B80ACC79A9.jpeg

https://www.hotwater.com/Resources/Literature/Instruction-Manuals/Residential-Gas/Vertex™-100-BTX-Service-Handbook-(318556-000)/

[​IMG]

Last edited by a moderator: Jul 20, 2021 at 8:01 AM
  2. Master Plumber Mark

Master Plumber Mark Sensitivity trainer and plumber of mens souls

Sensitivity trainer.. and plumber of mens souls
    indianapolis indiana - land of the free, home of
    Looks like some junk that must have been laying in the flu pipe for decades to me..
    maybe parts of the old fan blade that flew off up into the chimney>>.??

Is it copper or just tin metal>??

3. Sponsor

Sponsor Paid Advertisement

4. PlumberJohn

PlumberJohn New Member

It’s blue plastic. I assume it’s something that was put in the heater during manufacturing. I replaced a smaller vertex with the 100K vertex. My concern is it’s something in the heater breaking down. This was found in the tee at the base of the heater, so it was inside the heater!

5. Terry

Terry Administrator Staff Member

Plumber
    6 months? That would worry me too. I added a link to your post above, very different looking. I haven't installed one of these yet.