New Well Owner With Lots of Questions

Users who are viewing this thread

EricBryant24

Reaction score
Hi everyone. My wife and I just purchased our first home. The home features a well and septic system and I have no experience with either of these systems. As for the well, I do not know how deep it is and I have a bunch of questions regarding it. We moved in yesterday and noticed the water was a little brown/yellow which I have heard can be common when a well sits for a while. I don't believe that the house has been truly lived-in since 2012.

I was told that I would need to "shock" the well. Which means pouring a gallon of bleach in the well and keeping everything off for around 12 hours. Then to run the taps until the smell of bleach is gone. I plan to do this but have not done it yet. Does this sound right to everyone?

As for the construction of the well, I was wondering if anyone would have any insight into that. I have some pictures of the equipment that I can find.

WellCapOn.jpg
WllCap.jpg
DownWell.jpg
PressureTank.jpg
WellPumpControl.jpg
WellHouseExterior.jpg

So, does anyone see any problems or concerns that are evident from these pictures?

I was surprised to see the water level so high looking down the well pipe. I don;t know if you can tell from the picture but it is maybe 24 inches from the opening of the pipe. The house does seem to be in a low spot and the ground is very wet with a significant amount of standing water. I talked with my neighbor and he said that his well looks the same way this time of year.

Also, I don't seem to have access to the well pump, does anyone have a guess as to where that is or could be?

FYI, the pressure tank seems to be sitting around 50 psi.

Thanks so much for any information or tips you could provide. I look forward to learning more about this.

Reach4

Reaction score