Need to replace icemaker valve, can you identify the fitting?

Users who are viewing this thread

TomAZ

Reaction score
I had a leaking icemaker shut off valve, and tried to replace just the valve with no luck. Cut away some wall to see what I was dealing with. I’m new to any kind of flexible tubing so I’m asking for some identification and advice. Thanks, Tom.

B74253AD-E649-4CD4-85D7-494353AC9132.jpeg

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
1/2" PEX feeding it.
What you have has been modified. to go from 1/2" copper to PEX
Not all PEX has the same inside dimension though. There is also a possibility that the shutoff in the box may have a standard thread on it, if that's the case, you can spin off that one and spin on a new one.
Ice make line is 1/4" OD for the line going to the icemaker, the threads with the tape may be 1/2" MIP, maybe.

TomAZ

Reaction score
The valve on the left could not be turned off. Leaked out of the 1/4” outlet. The box on the right is a standard Brasscraft 1/2” in 1/4” out angle valve. I thought it would work.

image.jpg

Reach4

Reaction score
What is the diameter of the thread, as measured with a digital caliper (or micrometer)?
img_1.jpg

TomAZ

Reaction score
Oh. Fresh out of calipers. I have a SharkBite icemacker box that I though I may need to attach to copper. If I don’t care about locating it higher, can I just cut the pex and install a new box. The drywall is getting repaired anyway

TomAZ

Reaction score
It’s not pex. It’s soft and flexible. The only thing I can find is that it may be some material that begins with a W

TomAZ

Reaction score
image.jpg

Back to fixing the brass. It’s not a compression fitting. The threads are too course. The upper part it threaded on

TomAZ

Reaction score