Need help with pH neutralizer and water softener

Users who are viewing this thread

H22lude

Reaction score
Moved into our house the beginning of August. I'm new to wells. We got our water tested and the biggest thing is low pH. I sent my water report to two local companies. One recommended just a pH neutralizer and the other recommended both a neutralizer and water softener. The one that recommended the softener said the recommended hardness level is 3.5 and mine is 5.17. They didnt say what units they use. My calcium hardness as caco3 is 5.17 mg caco3/l. I thought this was pretty low. Am I wrong?

The company that suggests just a pH neutralizer recommends Fleck 12" x 52" 2 cu ft pH neutralizer with fleck 5600 sxt digital control valve.

The company that suggested both said "soda ash fed system to correct low ph followed by a as32cp water softener system with clack digital metered head".

I'm completely ignorant regarding filters and after researching, I feel like I'm more confused.

Can someone recommend what I should do?

Water report...
Color...0
Turbidity...0.16ntu
Odor...0
pH...5.54
Calcium hardness as CaCO3...5.17 mg CaCO3/L
Chloride...4.45 mg/L
Chlorine...<.05 mg/L
Nitrate as N...0.256 mg/L
Nitrite as N...<.01 mg/L
Sulfate as SO4...6.61 mg/L
Calcium...2.07 mg/L
Manganese...0.0403 mg/L
Iron...<.05 mg/L
Sodium...3.66 mg/L
Total coliform...absent
Escherichia coli...absent

I also have a smaller bladder pressure tank which I think needs to be replaced. I can hear a little water in it when I shake it.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. TIA

Bannerman

Reaction score
pH is measured on a scale from 0-14 with 7 being neutral, below 7 acidic and above 7, alkaline.

Acidic water will typically react with metals such as copper pipes and brass fittings so pH correction is usually necessary.