Install faucet onto outdoor pipe

Users who are viewing this thread

gilesitis

Reaction score
Hi all,

I need to reconnect a faucet to an outdoor PVC pipe (that was capped off) so that I can reach my grass seed with water. Is it just a matter of unscrewing that blue cap and then twisting on a faucet to the white coupling piece on the pipe? Or are there some other things to be aware of? I am not very experienced with plumbing as you can likely tell from this post : )

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

A picture I took can be found here

charlesey

I like to do everything to the best of my ability
Reaction score
Also connect a shut-off valve, with a drain, on the confidential of the household. Shut off the valve and drain wholly of the water from your pipe. You’ll evade revolting spurt pipes during cold weather.

Tuttles Revenge

In the Trades
Reaction score
Word of caution. Use 2 pair of wrenches or pliers... pliers will work best on the PVC. But ensure that you have a firm grip on the PVC fitting as you don't want to transfer energy to the pipe and end up twisting it and breaking it off below the ground. When instructing new hires, I refer to that as your backing wrench.

When you go to install your control valve on the plastic threads, make sure to use the same backing wrench technique, but obviously in the opposite direction. Firstly tho, you will want to make sure that your valve or fitting you're screwing on is square with the male adapter.. its very easy to crossthread plastic and can ruin the fitting. 2-3 wraps with a quality teflon pipe tape should do the trick. Do not over tighten as you can snap the plastic threads off.

gilesitis

Reaction score