Install Compression or Sharbite Ball Valves for Tub/Shower fixtures

Users who are viewing this thread

Greg0010

Reaction score
My house is about 2o years old and has no-name-ish contractor-grade (Rocaille) single-lever faucets in the two tubs/showers. They both leak a little (drips from spout). This house is new to me, and while I have experience working with really old tub faucets with separate knobs for hot/cold, I have zero experience with this kind of faucet.

I have no idea what I'll find in there when I pull it apart, if I'll find some innards and just have to replace a cartridge of some type, or if I'm going to be buying a new faucet...or more. An extended period of time when I have the water shut off to the whole house while I figure one of these out isn't going to work.

So, I'm thinking I'll install ball valve shut-offs in the crawl space for the faucets' supply lines. Then, I can work on one and not be trying to rush through anything.

My questions are 1) is this kosher or is this an oddball thing to do (that might look bad when/if re-selling)? and 2) while the 1/2" copper below is accessible, it is a little tight. I'm thinking of using either a sharkbite ball valves or a compression ball valves. I haven't soldered since a high school shop class; it is all a little too close to the floor joists for my confidence with a blowtorch. For a longer term situation, would it be better to go with a compression fitting or a sharkbite?

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
In a crawlspace you may find it easier to use a Sharkbite style ball valve. It's not hidden and you have access to it.
Soldering in old homes with the water off is always interesting. I always have water with me in a spray bottle.

Reach4

Reaction score
The wall that holds the valve may have a linen closet on the other side. An access panel is often put in that closet wall wall.