Help raising GPM, pump recommendations?

Users who are viewing this thread

KCunningham

Reaction score
First, I'm new to this so bear with me please. I have a 16' dug well and currently have a 4.5 GPM flow rate that is inadequate for my filtration systems. Looking to boost this up to at least 7 GPM. I have a jet pump in my basement. My well has never run dry, so I'm hoping to raise my GPM by upgrading my pumping situation and avoiding an intermediate storage tank if possible (to save money and headache both).

Can anyone recommend a good/long lasting way to upgrade my pump for these GPM? I definitely want a solution that I wont have to replace in a year or two. For example if there is a brand of pump famous for failing, that's good to know. Any help is greatly appreciated!

Valveman

Cary Austin
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
cyclestopvalves.com
At 4.5 GPM you must only have a 1/2 HP pump? A 1HP like a J10S Goulds would give you 8 GPM, and a 1.5HP like a J15S would give you 13 GPM max. You won't know if your well can supply this much water without testing it. You can probably test up to 10 GPM with the pump you have, by just opening enough faucets or a large enough faucet to get the pressure down to 20 PSI or so.

KCunningham

Reaction score
At 4.5 GPM you must only have a 1/2 HP pump? A 1HP like a J10S Goulds would give you 8 GPM, and a 1.5HP like a J15S would give you 13 GPM max. You won't know if your well can supply this much water without testing it. You can probably test up to 10 GPM with the pump you have, by just opening enough faucets or a large enough faucet to get the pressure down to 20 PSI or so.

Great, would love to test before buying, of course. I have a pressure gauge in-line and plenty of faucets. So run them all until I see the pressure around 20psi? How long do I do that for to complete the test? Just looking to be sure it doesn't run out of water?

Reach4

Reaction score