Help, please asap. Toto Drake Flapper vs. Tower Valve???

Users who are viewing this thread

Treeman

Reaction score
I just brought a Toto Drake CST744SL 1.6gal. for my workplace shop. The parts diagram shows 2 flush valve styles available, the traditional flapper and a tower: https://www.totousa.com/filemanager_uploads/product_assets/PD-00246_CST744SL.pdf

Being old school, I asked for the flapper valve. I just opened the box to find the tower valve. the tank no. on receipt is ST743S and in the tank it is ST743ST.

Please help me decide to keep or exchange it for the flapper style. Our water is medium hard with heavy rust stains that requires constant attention (no softener option).

Which valve will work best for my conditions?? I'm leery of the more complex tower design getting jammed up...all those sliding parts. I have NO experience with tower valves. Reliable, less maintenance is the goal.

Any real world experience is very sincerely appreciated. Thank you very much.

Last edited:

WJcandee

Wise One
Reaction score
I haven't heard of any complaints about the Toto flush tower. (Other brands' towers are a different story, but the Toto one seems so far to be working reliably.)

The purpose of switching to the tower is that it should last longer than the flapper in some difficult conditions.

Reach4

Reaction score
The purpose of switching to the tower is that it should last longer than the flapper in some difficult conditions.
Does it also give a little more head to the water?

It may also open and close more suddenly. I have not actually seen one, so I am speculating.

Last edited:

Treeman

Reaction score
Thank you gentlemen...you too, Reach4 (LOL).

It seems my question is moot. I chatted with the TOTO people and it seems that the flapper is being phased out in favor of the tower style. My installation will be a good test to see how they handle hard water and rust accumulations.