Dry well or clogged screen?

Users who are viewing this thread

Bob543

Reaction score
Hi....I have a well that is used only for filling the pond that is used for irrigation. I have been using the existing well since 2008. The rust is bad so the pumps only last for around 3 years. I measured the levels about 10 yrs ago. The water was at 100 feet and the bottom was 230 feet and the pump at 180 feet. The pump stopped last week. Normally when I pull it the pipe is wet after five 20 ft pipes. I measured this time and the water was at 115 feet and the bottom around 213 feet. I dropped a cheaper pump in. It flowed well for about 5 minutes and then reduced to a trickle. I shut it off instantly. After about 20 minutes I turned it on. It ran good for about five minutes and stopped again. I pulled it out assuming it was just a weak pump. Measured the water again and it was 115 feet. The label had come off the pump and was on the inlet screen. I figured this was the problem. I installed a Grundfos and it does the same thing. Pumps nice for a few minutes and stops. The city had sent out notices that new wells had been installed in the area. What is confusing is the neighbors on each side of me are not having this problem. The well driller said that he is getting lots of calls on this side of town with the same problem. Sorry for the long post. I added 6 feet of pipe but it didn't change things. Thanks for any thoughts on this.

Reach4

Reaction score
Next time you pull the pump, you could run some tubing to near the pump. Tape the tubing in place, as you do the water.

If you use an air compressor and a gauge up top, the air pressure that can be held will tell you how far it is from the water level down to the open end of the tube. Stop the pump, and take a reading. For example, if there is 10 ft of water above the end of the pump, the max pressure would be 4.2 psi.