Deep well - PVC crack between pump and torque arrestor

Users who are viewing this thread

Steve L

Reaction score
This is a very deep well - 1200'. The bottom 600' are schedule 120 PVC, the top 600' are galvanized steel.

All was well for the first 5 years. I accidentally let it run dry for too long. The pump seems fine, but the PVC split open between the top of the pump and bottom of the torque arrestor, about 3 feet above the pump. That's certainly a weak spot, with constant torque when the pump is running. I really don't want to use galvanized steel below the water line. What other options ?

Thanks

Reach4

Reaction score
What is your check valve situation? With a check valve above the water surface, there could be some water hammer. If you got a check valve able to stand the full pressure, that might make things easier on the pipe.

If you went to a length of stainless pipe above the pump, would that just move the failure point up a bit?

I am not a pro.

Valveman

Cary Austin
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
cyclestopvalves.com
I didn't think you could go that deep with PVC. But 1" shows to be good to 720 PSI and 1 1/4" is good to 600 PSI. That means even with a 40/60 switch 1 1/4" should be good to 1,248', and 1" even more than that. But like Reach says having multiple check valves in that line can cause water hammer that could be 5-10 times that much pressure. Running the pump dry and getting the pipe hot could have also caused that problem. You need a Dry Well protector like a Cycle Sensor, and a couple of good check valves right on the pump and none further up the line.

Midriller

Reaction score
What is your check valve situation? With a check valve above the water surface, there could be some water hammer. If you got a check valve able to stand the full pressure, that might make things easier on the pipe.

If you went to a length of stainless pipe above the pump, would that just move the failure point up a bit?

I am not a pro.