Crazy power fluctuations in the house! Weird.

Users who are viewing this thread

Ballvalve

General Engineering Contractor
Reaction score
Help. I am a contractor and have done much complicated wiring but I am stumped. Lights flickered in the house [ 20 years old, no previous issues] for a few days then resolved. Now again power is variable on the 2 hot lines. sometimes 120v and others 105 volts, you can see the lights at a low power indicating low voltage. But it is not consistent, one leg lower than the other higher. Okay, went to the meter, its a "smart" meter and it is blank for the first time ever. Gave it the hammer, no improvement. So here is the bizzare part: 120V to ground both hot legs at the 200 amp main breaker. Then 11 volts between the two hot legs. 3 different test meters, all agree. Transformer? Meter? California mountains, recent massive rain and snow, 5 power outages, surges, lightening storms... ran on a genset for a week. Before I call big brother, could it be on MY side of the meter? Thanks.

John Gayewski

In the Trades
Reaction score
I'm not electrician nor do I have a good amount of experience with electrical work. But I do have experience with goofy electrical phenomenon. In my case the transformer lugs were loose. It took several trips from a union electrical contractors to figure out what was happening because the problem appeared intermittent. Not sure if that helps but in a lot of cases in my area it's free to call the utility and have them isolate your problem.

Reach4

Reaction score
"So here is the bizzare part: 120V to ground both hot legs at the 200 amp main breaker. Then 11 volts between the two hot legs."
11 volts between the two hots at the incoming wires, and you don't have access to a more-upstream point. Time to call for help. You have done all that you could do.

wwhitney

In the Trades
Reaction score