changing heat only tstat to heat and cool tstat

Users who are viewing this thread

Journeymant

Reaction score
forgive my lack of intelligence.for i am an electrician.i have a repeat customer w/ a split system mobile home furnace w/ heat only stat (2 wire) and wants a heat and cool stat "since i was there".the furnace has 2 switches on it,1 for cont or auto,the other for heat or cool.the way it works now (w/ original stat) is only the heat can be converted from cont or auto. flip the heat and cool switch to cool and the a/c works fine but will never shut off regardless of the cont/auto switch. of corse the new stat has 4 (or 5 ) terminals y-g-w and rc-rh jumpered.the handler has 3 ( y-t-tx). T and TX are for the original stat.Y is for 1 condenser wire, the other condens wire is nutted to a wire comming from the heat and cool switch (on the furnace). now ive tried the new stat not touching the furnace wires.removed the jumper between rc-rh, tied red to rc, white to w and still the a/c runs cont even w/ stat off.i do know that W is for heat,Y-cool,G-blower and red.tried numerous configurations inside the furnace. found one that almost worked.condenser kicked on but no blower.could someone please send me a digram of what needs to happen like to keep customers happy.(coleman mobile home furnace,model#7680B,80000 btu)thanx much

Jimbo

Plumber
Reaction score