Bubbles and slow draining kitchen sink

Users who are viewing this thread

Inav

Reaction score
Newbie here in Ontario.We renovating and due to new kitchen cabinets, we had to redo the plumbing under the sink.

The venting stack is about 2 to 3 feet from sink drain.

With the faucet fully open the sink slowly fills up and bubbles start coming up as it drains.

We thought it was leaves in the vent stack on the roof. So flushed that with a garden hose. We noticed that when the garden hose is running in the vent stack, we do not have the bubbles in the sink.

That seems to indicate that it is a venting issue. Seems like the "current" from the water coming down the venting stack is dragging the water from the sink with it. I guess the vent has a lower pressure with garden hose running in it???

Looking at the P-trap, I think that the right side should have been higher by an inch or two. Btw, we are using 1.5" and. Will this fix the issue I am having?

I have included a picture showing the current configuration.

Attachments

• 20170703_200638.jpg
    20170703_200638.jpg
    44.5 KB · Views: 648

Reach4

Reaction score
I would think that when you run the dishwasher, that would push up into the sink.

I suspect a partial blockage where the drain line under the vent goes horizontal. That should have been a long sweep.

If you redo, maybe feed the dishwasher into a tail piece meant to receive a dishwasher output. Put a long sweep on that vertical to horizontal if practical.

Add a cleanout so that you could clean that elbow area.

I don't know why no suds when you are running water down the vent.

Inav

Reaction score
What do you mean by "Put a long sweep on that vertical to horizontal if practical"?

In the picture attached, would that be #1 or #2?

Don't you think that #2 should be higher than #1 by maybe 2"?

Also by " bubbles", I mean air bubbles, not suds.

Attachments

• 20170703_224228.jpg
    20170703_224228.jpg
    47.8 KB · Views: 662

Reach4

Reaction score
#3.