Broken Stub Out - Cracked Pipe - How do I get it out? PICS

Users who are viewing this thread

sempe813

Reaction score
Hello my name is Paul and I'm new to the forum. I have very little plumbing experience, but I figured someone here might know how to fix my issue.

I recently purchased a property and need to fix this disaster under the sink. The plumbing is from the 1950-70s. The pipe in the picture is completely rusted and even split down the middle. The metal portion is about 4-6 inches lone and it connect a PVC pipe that goes 90 degrees to the right.

How do I go about removing and replacing the metal portion? It is doable without ripping out more of the wall?

Thanks!

jG5AeWX.jpg

qDsJunu.jpg

4chHFhV.jpg

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
You will need more wall out. Hopefully there is access on a wall behind without tile. If not, you will be removing the tile side.

sempe813

Reaction score
You will need more wall out. Hopefully there is access on a wall behind without tile. If not, you will be removing the tile side.

Thanks for the reply. I figured that would be the case. The laundry room is on the other side of the wall so I might try attacking it from that end.

Reach4

Reaction score
Is that inside of a vanity? If so, I would open the wall in there. When you close it back up, it does not have to have tile. You can make it look like the back of the vanity rather than part of the walls. I am not a pro.

sempe813

Reaction score
Is that inside of a vanity? If so, I would open the wall in there. When you close it back up, it does not have to have tile. You can make it look like the back of the vanity rather than part of the walls. I am not a pro.

That's actually a brilliant idea!

Dgeist

Reaction score
Thanks for the reply. I figured that would be the case. The laundry room is on the other side of the wall so I might try attacking it from that end.