Black pipe assembly tips?

Users who are viewing this thread

jtech1

Reaction score
I have read all the threads on tightening black pipe over the years (I am not a pro) and have no problem assembling leak free water and gas threaded pipe/fittings. But, I do run into issues now and then, that I have to believe there are ways to avoid that I don't know about... hoping someone can help provide a tip or two to help me (and others) out here.

I use RectorSeal 5 teflon pipe dope for gas lines.

1) When I use a street elbow right out of a brass valve, it seems to go much further into the valve (1 or no threads visible) that most other pre-cut nipples in regular fittings. Is this normal?

2) On same assembly as #1, it is also very easy to back it up a bit while working further down the line... like tightening pipe coming out of the other side of the street elbow or next fitting after that. I assume because the teflon and the brass have more slip than a steel fitting? Is there a "best" orientation for the two wrenches when tightening down the line so as not to disturb previous fittings? ie. street elbow out of horizontal valve, with elbow turning up and nipple out of elbow pointing up... if I have either the holding wrench or the turning wrench where force is applied anywhere near the direction of the street elbow unthreading direction, it will usually slip. If I put wrenches at 180 from each other and push both, the street elbow could tighten more and get out of alignment. Just wondering if there is any "plumbers rule" on how to use the wrenches to not mess up previous connections. I am always nervous that I will apply too much on both wrenches and torque/snap a fitting or pipe further back in the assembly.

3) I read somewhere to always have the larger wrench used as holding the previous pipe/fitting, and smaller wrench to tighten next piece. Is this true? Is this better than two of the same wrenches? Is there benefit to having more holding force than turning force?