1957 plumbing

Users who are viewing this thread

TheGewp

Reaction score
Should i even try to tackle this? I have no experience with cast iron, and i assume that 2" santee on the main stack should be a 3" minimum at this point? From what i can tell the laundry room was added long after and only has a 1.5" drain for a sink and washer, and the kitchen was "upgraded" to a 2", but reduces to a 1.5 at the horizontal connection. Both backup into the bathtub occasionally.
4ZJNEKy3.jpeg

Last edited:

Kreemoweet

In the Trades
Reaction score
If you have backups, you have a blocked drain somewhere, which should be fixed. Somewhat undersized pipes
(by current standards) do not cause backups, unless the steel drain pipes are clogged with rust (quite likely).
Replacing the steel with plastic would be a nice weekend project for many DIY'ers.
The more pressing problem would be the galvanized supply
piping. It's long past it's expected service life, and failures there can be very messy and expensive.

fernco-donut.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

TheGewp

Reaction score
I agree 100% on the supply. This is my sister's house and i have told her that needs to be done ASAP. I repiped my house with pex a couple years ago so i'm familiar with that process. The drains i am not as sure about. What are the chances that galvanized pipe will unscrew from the iron tee on the main stack? Should i plan on replacing the whole vertical stack?

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
The galvanized might unscrew, but might crush in the process...you won't really know until you try it.

TheGewp

Reaction score
OK, i'll prepare for both scenarios.