Would You Completely Re-Pipe?

Users who are viewing this thread

cowboyjosh78

Reaction score
So I know some folks in Ohio who are about to undertake upon a major remodel to a custom ranch type house built in either 1976 or 1980, I can't remember the year; anyways they asked me if id be a good idea to rip out and re-pipe and re-wire all the spaces being touched. For example the kitchen is a gut job, would you all replace all the pipe and start over or work with the 30 year old pipe? All the pipe is copper and they have lived in the house since day 1 and have never had anything other then typical things like the occasional frozen pipe or fixtures needing fixed and replaced up until now. I also know the house has been remodeled and kept pretty well; they are just concerned about the old pipe failing as soon as the builder (same builder who originally built the house is going to do the remodel and addition) packs up and leaves.

Im a home builder, not a remodeler, but these are my friends folks and he asked on his folks behalf; so I decided to throw it out there for you guys who see 30 year old copper on a regular basis.

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
It would depend on local water conditions.
In Seattle, copper lasts a long time, In parts of Los Angeles, it doesn't.
Since I'm in the Seattle area, I don't change out copper pipes, only galvanized. But I will say that some well systems to the East of me have been very hard on copper.

HomeRepairGuy

Reaction score