What is this piece called & how to replace it?

Users who are viewing this thread

Uncledodat

Reaction score
20170830_134434.jpg
20170830_134434.jpg
20170830_134452.jpg

Hello, new member here. New homeowner also. My background is limited to fixing computers. How i wish I had at least took a hvac class or some type of carpentry. Heck, even my brick steps could use some redoing.

However, the reason I am here today is a piece to my boiler/furnace (not even sure) is leaking very bad and i need to know where I can get the replacement part and the steps to replace it. I've included pics of this mysterious piece.

Thanks in advance for any info

Last edited by a moderator:

Dana

In the trades
Reaction score
I don't recognize the exact model has the form factor of a pressure reducing valve/auto-fill valve, designed to automatically add water to the heating system if the system loses some water. It was manufactured by Bell & Gossett (the B & G in the casting.) Most residential system auto-fills these days have bronze rather than cast-iron bodies, but B &G still makes similar models in cast iron. They are sometimes sold together with a pressure relief valve, but are usually separate:

bell_gossett_dual_unit_valve__88663__38036.1369873598.1280.1280.png

The replacement doesn't have to be cast-iron, and it's handy to get one with a lever for rapid-filling the system:

110193-5.jpg

0386421-5.jpg

Uncledodat

Reaction score
Thank you so much. What can you tell me about replacing one of these babies? I was under the impression that I was looking for the same model and color, just to make things a bit easier. Is it just a pop of the old one and pop on the new? Or do I have to drain the system or something?

Thanks in advance.

Dana

In the trades
Reaction score