Sump Pump internal discharge pipe water leaks

Users who are viewing this thread

Sandy T

Reaction score
Hi ~

I will greatly appreciate it if I get some advice on this issue. The internal discharge pipe has a leak (? I mean a lot leak) or doesn't pump up the water properly when the pump runs. When it tries to pump up, some amount of water come out from the top of the coupling (Red arrows in the picture). I tightened the screw (it was loose), but it didn't make much difference. Would you please let me know what's possible issues, and if I need to replace the pipe or coupling or clamps, how to do it? I am totally new to this type of water pipe and connection.

Thank you!
Sandy

Attachments

• Inked20230430_203424.jpg
    Inked20230430_203424.jpg
    95.8 KB · Views: 136
  • 20230430_203439.jpg
    20230430_203439.jpg
    92.3 KB · Views: 133
  • 20230430_203456.jpg
    20230430_203456.jpg
    63.6 KB · Views: 123

Bannerman

Reaction score
The rubber piece appears to be a check-valve.

A check-valve is a one-way valve to prevent the water being pumped-out within the pipe above, from dropping back into the pit once the pump has shut-off. The pipe above the C-V will continue to remain filled with water so it would not be unusual for water to leak if the top gear-clamp is loose.

The horizontal ring stain evident around the pipe about 3/4" above the top of the check-valve coupling suggests the check-valve may now be situated lower than it had been previously. Perhaps the pump position had been altered so it is now sitting lower within the pit, which has pulled the check-valve downward so the upper pipe may be barely inserted into the top of the check-valve which could be why tightening the gear clamp is not providing a water-tight seal.