Short Cycling Well Pump

Users who are viewing this thread

schmeckp

Reaction score
I'm relatively new to wells, but have been reading about short cycling, and noticed my pump is only running ~20-25 seconds to refill the pressure tank. I don't have a lot of knowledge about my system, but I've detailed out what I can gather from labels below.

Should first step be to drain the system and check the pressure on the tank? Replace the pressure gauge so I can see when the pump is actually turning on / off?

Original factory pressure switch set to 40-60. Pressure gauge is old and non functioning - needle stuck at ~63.

Sta-rite Signature 2000 SR60 10 01 tank - 15.5gal draw down for 40-60, factory set to 38. The tank / pressure switch is about 17 years old.

3/4hp Franklin electric pump motor 2445079004. Unknown pump - I did find a Redjacket 4in submersible pump manual in my house materials (we're 3rd owner), but I don't know if that's what is currently in the well.

Per the drilling info - well is 96ft deep / sand and gravel, pumping level 88ft, static water level 60ft. 6" black pipe to 93 ft, 93 to 96ft is 5in/.020 slotted stainless.

1" copper inside the house from the pump to tank to house. 4x20 whole house sediment filter, whole house carbon filter (2.5cu ft), whole house water softener (2.5cu ft).

Reach4

Reaction score

Bannerman

Reaction score
After adding air to the tank, you may want to check it again after a 1 or 2 days to ensure the pressure remains consistent. While an annual check of the tank's pre-charge pressure is common, because you don't know when it was last checked and as the short cycling suggests a waterlogged tank, it will be then appropriate to check the tank again shortly to ensure it is holding air.

schmeckp

Reaction score
I was unfamiliar.
http://www.pumpsandwells.com/mm5/PDFs/Starite fibrewound_tank_specs.pdf

Step 1 would be to check the air precharge. It likely has dropped. Air precharge is always checked and set with water pressure zero.