Searching for a high efficiency water softener - need advice/help

Users who are viewing this thread

masch56

Reaction score
Newbie here looking for some sound advice from the forum experts. Here is my situation, I am looking for a softener that can achieve a 4000-5000 grains per pound salt efficiency. I am on city water with a stated hardness of 7-10 gpg with negligible to no iron (I know I’ll need to complete a real hardness test before I can finalize my choice). Our average usage over the past year with a 25% safety factor added in is 210 gal per day which works out to ~15000 grains per week of hardness removal. The water supply line is 3/4 inch copper. To get the service flow rate I need for a multi head shower in the master bathroom, I’m thinking a 1.5 cu ft resin bed is needed. FWIW, I would use 10% cross linked resin. I have been looking at Fleck controllers, specifically the 5600SXT or 5800SXT. Is it possible to achieve my desired salt efficiency either of these controllers? A listing of the setup parameters would be nice. Also, I’ve read on this forum that a smaller diameter tank is better for softening than a larger diameter - I guess a taller column of resin works better. Any truth to that statement? Finally, would upflow regen provide any gains over downflow?

Thanks, in advance, for any help.

Mark

Bannerman

Reaction score
What makes you think 4000-5000 grains per lb salt efficiency is desirable?

That efficiency is achievable with the control valve models you list since the capacity and salt dose settings are fully programmable in each to provide that level of efficiency. For 4200 gr/lb efficiency, that will utilize 4 lbs per ft3 of resin whereas 5000 gr/lb will be 2 lbs/ft3.