Plumbing career advice?

Users who are viewing this thread

Kevinjm4

Reaction score
Not sure if this would be the place but does anyone have advice getting into the plumbing trade? Specific advice or general doesn’t matter anything is appreciated.

Currently I am a welder, been so going on 10 years or so, but thinking about the switch. Better money, could move anywhere in the country and a plumber is always in demand... welder maybe not quite as much - my thinking at least. Better money for plumbers as well so that’s always a plus raising a family.

I’m in the seattle area. At the moment all I can really tell is I’d need to apply at the union, and they use (or applicants go through them?) Seattle area Pipe Trades for apprenticeships.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited:

James Henry

In the Trades
Reaction score
I went through the plumbing apprenticeship with Phoenix AZ. LOCAL 469. We would travel to Seattle when work got slow in Phoenix. You are already a welder. If I were you I would go through the Pipefitter/ Welder apprenticeship, there are a lot more plumbers than pipefitters and not all pipefitters can weld.

Reach4

Reaction score
Currently I am a welder, been so going on 10 years or so, but thinking about the switch. Better money, could move anywhere in the country and a plumber is always in demand...
I think normally it is hard to work in a different state than you are licensed in. It is not a matter of passing a skills test, but rather putting in hours under somebody in the state with a license. I could be wrong. I would be pleased to be wrong on this.

Texas had a special deal that they would honor plumbing licenses from other states after their big freeze caused an extreme shortage of plumbers.

Kevinjm4

Reaction score