New Submersible Pump new Drop Pipe Water has burnt rubber smell

Users who are viewing this thread

Ed Rucker

Reaction score
The title says it all. New Submersible Pump new Drop Pipe, water has a burnt rubber smell. What do I look at first?

Reach4

Reaction score
I would wonder if I applied 240 volt power to a 115 volt pump... I have no relevant experience, but that came to mind as a wild possibility.

Was the well out of service for a long while?

Maybe run a lot of water to the ditch to see if the smell leaves the water, but I would not know how that smell got there. What pump?

Valveman

Cary Austin
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
cyclestopvalves.com
Been doing pumps 54 years and never heard that one before. I doubt it is coming from the pump or pipe. What is the condition of the pressure tank as that is the only thing with rubber in it.

Ed Rucker

Reaction score
The pressure tank is a 50-year-old galvanized model, no bladder. The well has been out of service for a month. It was really rusty at first after shock treatment but cleared up after an hour of pumping out. At first I thought it might be from the garden hose I used to recirculate the water and mix the chlorine. The pump is a 7s10-19 with the Grundfos 1 HP 3 wire motor and a Franklin 1 HP CSCR controller

Reach4

Reaction score
That rubber garden hose makes sense. They do sell garden hoses rated for potable water, if this comes up again.

Let's suppose the hose is the origin. After you stopped recirculating, the flow of water was probably from below the pump (if you have a bottom-feeding well). The water above the pump did not get rinsed out, and it could be slowly releasing its rubber smell.

So suppose you split the water from the hose spigot. Send about half to the ditch with your rubber hose, and the other half down the well to rinse out the older water above the pump.

Ed Rucker

Reaction score