New house with boiler, need help!

Users who are viewing this thread

Tony De

Reaction score
Just bought a house with an older boiler. It's been working pretty well, but I need to replace a couple of zone valves. I am an electrician, and pretty handy with tools but I have no experience with boilers and don't really want to flood or blow up my new place. I can replace the valves, but I need more info on refilling and bleeding the system, as well as what, if anything, I need to do with the expansion tank. Thanks in advance for any info!

Dana

In the trades
Reaction score
To the extent possible, isolate the sections that will be opened up with whatever ball valves etc that are on the system, to limit the amount of water lost, and the amount of air that needs purging after the fact. There is also an isolating valve, usually between a pressure reducing/auto-fill valve that should be closed before opening up the system.

Some photos of the zone valve manifold and nearby valves might make this discussion easier.

Tap on the expansion tank- the side with the air valve should ring, the other half should thud. If the system pressure is between 12-15 psi (there's usually a meter on or near the boiler) when the system is tepid, not full-hot, and the expansion tank still rings on the air-valve side it's reasonable to assume that it's pre-charge is still in a reasonable range. Let's not create extra work.