Need to replace part of cast iron vent stack in my attic bathroom

Users who are viewing this thread

jak85

Reaction score
I noticed some rusting on the undersides of both waste lines and decided to replace them with PVC, unfortunately they ended up breaking under the torque of my pipe wrench. The male thread is broke off inside the female thread of the drain T, but I'm not sure that there's even much thread left on that drain T to make it worth my while trying to get the broken piece out of there...they have a decent amount of rust build up.

I'm thinking my best option is to cut the stack off at some point below the lowest T and convert it over to PVC. I've never worked on cast iron before, so I was hoping you guys might give me some pointers on how you might approach this. I've noticed there are rubber fittings that fit inside the cast iron pipes as well as the rubber couples with hose clamps. Looking at the picture, where would you make your cut at and what fittings would you use to convert over to PVC?

If the picture doesn't show enough, starting from the bottom, there is a 4" piece of extension pipe, that then connects into the lower drain T, that then connects to the upper T and then I've got another 5ft of cast iron pipe up to the roof.

EDIT: Also, I just read that I might be able to just bust out the lead/oakum joint of the hubs instead of cutting the pipe, does that sound possible in my situation?

Attachments

• 20161117_191041.jpg
    20161117_191041.jpg
    70.5 KB · Views: 1,377
Last edited:

Dj2

In the Trades
Reaction score
You can rent a Ridgid cast iron cutting chain tool at HD for the day or for the hour.
A grinder w/steel wheel works well too.
Cut your 4" pipe just below the lower T.
Use Fernco style connector from CI to PVC.

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
mission_bandseal.jpg

Measure the old cast iron. New cast is 4-3/8" OD. Some old cast will be 4-1/8" OD, which is considered a copper size.