Kinetico FLT/SFT Para-Flo 4040 Quad tank with neutralizer?

Users who are viewing this thread

Rick M

Reaction score
I just bought a home near Fort Mill, SC and the seller said the Kinetico Water Softener was offline because it needs a "rebuild and new resin and neutralizer". I called a Kinetico dealer and he came out, tested the water and it was slightly acid at about 6.0ph and 5 grains of hardness. It turned from a service call into a sales presentation and he said it needed to be replaced with a new unit and quoted over $4,000.

I don't understand why it can not be rebuilt, it's just tanks, resin, neutralizer, water turbines and a few valves, but maybe there's more to than I know, that's why I'm here to ask advice of those who know. Is this unit too old or maybe has known problems with it? I'm a retired mechanic and have repaired my water softener at out old home when the valves were sticking, so I would have no problems rebuilding this unit myself. I've already watched a dozen videos on the various steps involved and it looks very straight forward to service.

I've located the rebuild seal kit ($120) but not sure what resin and calcium carbonate neutralizer to order or how much of it. I found 1 cu ft (50lbs) of 8% crosslinked resin for $110 and 0.5 cu ft of Aqua-Pure C-050P Calcium Carbonate media for $61. Is that the correct media and would that me enough for one rebuild?

I would be very grateful to any advice and suggestions from someone knowledgeable with this water conditioner.

Attachments

• 20210413_101517.jpg
    20210413_101517.jpg
    60.7 KB · Views: 229
  • 20210413_101527.jpg
    20210413_101527.jpg
    67.4 KB · Views: 244
  • 20210413_101539.jpg
    20210413_101539.jpg
    79.4 KB · Views: 234

Kevin Trinh

Reaction score
Rick,
I have rebuilt Quad 50/51 for a friend and it need about 1 cb ft resin and 1 cb ft carbon.