Irrigation help

Users who are viewing this thread

brehms

Reaction score
Like many others, I'm new at this. I have done plenty of other construction, but plumbing has always been one of my weak spots.

My wife and I moved into a new house, in a new subdivision in AZ.
The front and backyards were not done. The builder was having a landscaper do the front, and I designed a sprinkler system for the back yard. The whole property is pretty flat.

I measured 80 PSI static, 15GPM. coming from the water spicket right where the main water line enters the house. Water meter = 1", water line into the house 1" copper.

My design includes:
2 zones (irritrol 205 valves) (7 heads in ea)
14 heads (Hunter PS10) (6-360deg, 2-270deg, 6-180deg) @ 360deg x30psi = 1.59gpm.
1" CLASS 200 pvc for main line (55ft zone 1, 70ft zone 2)
3/4" CLASS 200 pvc for laterals. (70ft zone 1, 65ft zone 2)

Adding up the heads gpm, per zone, should be ~9 GPM

The contractor came and did the front yard, and installed 2 lawnlife 75ASV 3/4" anti-siphon valves. 1 for the drip system in the frontyard, 1 for my line in the backyard. I received a 40' 3/4" sch 40 line to the back, instead of the 1" I had asked for. The valves are attached to the main line using 6" of 3/4" copper.

After the contractor did their work, we immediatly noticed that the water pressure inside the house was reduced. Also, the outside spicket where I took my original measurements, water seemed to not come out as fast. Even when the lawnlife valves are completely closed.

There is a pressure reduction device, but that looks like it is connected to the drip system only.

After I tillered, trenched, laid pipe, glued everything together, I flushed the pipes and noticed the water was only coming up about 5" (with all the other heads capped). When attaching the heads, I can only get 2x360 heads working (3.2gpm). There doesnt seem to be enough pressure or water.

So my questions are:
Where is my problem?