I am looking for a tool to follow wires in a wall.

Users who are viewing this thread

Brian M

Reaction score
I am very familiar with residential wiring. I see units for anywhere from $20-1500. Some do what I want, some not. I am not a pro so under $100 would be great. I am not going to use it very often.

I am not looking for a tone generator for finding the wire from an outlet to a breaker box. If it has it fine. I am looking to follow wires behind drywall or plaster to follow where they go. When you have 2 loads coming out of an outlet and don't know where they go. No problem with using a jumper on the wiring to help follow them. Not wanting to cut into drywall to find them. Any recommendations?? Thanks

LLigetfa

DIYer, not in the trades
Reaction score
A good tone generator and a good antenna will let you follow the wire inside the wall.
Most good detectors use a tone generator. Detecting on only the live AC like with a contactless tester or fancy stud finder has limited range. Some breaker detectors only work on live circuits as they get their power from the CUT.

Brian M

Reaction score
Most good detectors use a tone generator. Detecting on only the live AC like with a contactless tester or fancy stud finder has limited range. Some breaker detectors only work on live circuits as they get their power from the CUT.
Live circuits would be fine... It would be a big plus to have the unit detect a short or open.

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
Putting a transmitter on a wire end, and then tracing it with a receiver works, but it's likely a bit expensive for a one-time use. I've never looked to see if any tool rental places might carry one...would be worth a few calls.

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
Trying to trace a "live" line would be a fool's errand, because there is no way to verify if you are following the correct one, once two or more converge or cross over.

LLigetfa

DIYer, not in the trades