Helping Mapping Out Pipes for Adding Utility Sink to Washer Drain

Users who are viewing this thread

ah1

Reaction score
Hello all,

My wife and I are purchasing a home and I am hoping to install a utility sink into the basement next to the washer. I'm familiar with the basics of plumbing (I work in construction) but I am not a plumber by trade, and so I'd appreciate some advice on the proper way to reconfigure the drainage and vent for the sink and washer to run into the main drainage stack. The issue I'm facing is that the current washer drain is quite high up and will need to be moved down to allow a proper vent above. But, I'm not entirely sure of the best way to go about doing this. I'm thinking for ease, I should simply drain the washer INTO the sink once its connected. Please see the two attached photos, one of which I have diagrammed.

Pipes.jpgPipes 2.jpg

Here is what exists and what I'm proposing (green are modifications) which I could use feedback on.
Current Pipe Diagram.png

Proposed Pipe Diagram.png

Thank you for any tips or helpful guidance you can provide!

Reach4

Reaction score
There is another possibility under IPC.
index.php

ah1

Reaction score
There is another possibility under IPC.
index.php
Thanks for the reply and suggestion. I was familiar with this IPC diagram, but the issue I face in my case is that I do not have the room to relocate the sink as the only other place it can go would be more than the diagrammed 30 inches from the standpipe and would also involve relocating the copper water pipes (which I can do but would prefer not to for the sake of simplicity).

If I were able to implement the IPC diagram, how would the incoming drain from the kitchen fit into this? Should I still put a wye in so that both sides of the connection are draining at the same point, or does it not matter if one portion is lower or higher than the other?

Tuttles Revenge

In the Trades
Reaction score