HELP! Mosaic tiling down to the tub!

Users who are viewing this thread

Pandyandy

Reaction score
I've been working on my upstairs bathroom for about a month and I'm at a stand still, I'm tiling the walls down to the bathtub, I got most of it done but I'm stuck! I know I'm not a professional, I wish I could afford one but something had to happen in that bathroom there was mold when we moved in 2 months ago. So back on topic,I got a nice big new tub and put it in then I got the Becker board and put it up, I mortared and put up all the mosaic glass tiles and it looks wonderful I just have one issue I need to solve before moving onto the grout so here goes! (Please no judgment, I know a professional would have came out with different results but as I said I can't afford that right now and something needed to happen) I was having trouble figuring out the lip and where the Becker board goes and after a lot of googling and reading the instructions on the bathtub I decided to bring the Becker board down to the the top lip of the tub and not down over it because of how thick the lip is, but on the long wall going across the tile does not come down even with the tub(I will attach photos) there is about a half a centimeter to a centimeter of space between the back of the bottom row of tiles and the bathtub, I know if I grout something like this it will not be waterproof and there will be an gap for stuff to grow. So my question is, does anybody have an idea as to what I can use behind the bottom row of tiles to keep it level with the rest of the wall and not pushed in? I was wondering if I could squeeze a bead of silicone in there and let it dry where the tile needs to be or maybe the puff stuff that expands with air? Any ideas I'm willing to explore I'd just like to get this bathroom done already!!
20170909_092704.jpg
20170909_092528.jpg
20170909_092704.jpg
20170909_092528.jpg
20170909_092704.jpg
20170909_092528.jpg
20170909_092502.jpg
20170909_092704.jpg