First time plumbing a shower. How did I do?

Users who are viewing this thread

JanSolo

Reaction score
Hello again, o wise plumbing masters!

I'm continuing with my bathroom project and today, I tackled the new shower plumbing. It's a normal Delta shower with tub-spout. I used PEX for most of it; but I had to do some copper sweat connections too.
It's my first time doing sweat and PEX, so let's see how you think I did...

This is what it looked like with the old faucet still there.
CE250C20-22F0-4AEA-8196-470EB97D30B2.jpeg

Here's my layout before I crimped in all my PEX
C1BAC9FC-3A7D-4D82-9A2B-D1A5EAFDA1B2.jpeg

Here's my rough-in valve all crimped in.
29E54CBF-5080-4B02-BE44-326D0CF17A84.jpeg

My very first copper sweat connections for the tub-spout.
87F45D5E-72E9-4F51-A9D4-E4C5E763534C.jpeg

Copper to PEX. It was a bit hair-raising to mess around with my propane torch indoors. Kids thought I was gonna burn the house down for sure.
D9654388-BFA7-439E-A532-18003F56C5AB.jpeg

So there you go; it holds water; completely dry so far. If you see anything sketchy, let me know and I'll try to address it before I close the wall up.

Couple of questions:

The center-line of my bath/show coincides with a stud on the wall, you can see I trim some of the stud to get the valve & pex to fit. Do I need to add some more wood here so that I have something to attach my drywall to securely? I'm expecting yes....

My current plan is to close up the shower with Kerdi-board and use normal drywall for the rest of the room. I looked a the price of Kerdi-Board and it aint cheap! Is it better/cheaper/easier to just drywall the whole thing and just use Kerdi membrane near the shower? How hard is it to have a Kerdi-Board/Drywall mix solution?

Thanks, wise plumbing wizards!

Jan

Last edited:

Terry H

In the Trades
Reaction score