CSV and well pump questions

Users who are viewing this thread

Thomasb

Reaction score
Hello guys. My name is Thomas and am building a house in southern Ohio. I'm getting ready to have my well drilled in the next few weeks and am looking for some opinions.

I'm a maintenance tech and work with vfds daily. I know the pitfalls of adding complexity to a simple system such as a well pump.

House is high on a hill and I'm expecting the well to be 350-400 feet deep. Based on neighbors water elevation.

Let's call it 350 for comparison sake. So I'm looking at 150ish psi to push the water up, plus 50 psi for house pressure... Right at 200 psi (460 feet of head).. I'm looking at grundfos well pumps, and a 5s15-26 looks to be a decent fit.. the nominal head is 495 feet. But if you install a CSV the pressure at the base of the well wirh with 1gpm will be 700 feet of head (305 psi).

Am I calculating things correct? Is PE pipe not an option with a CSV at Wells this deep?

BTW the house is a temporary "starter" home one bath, no crazy shower setups, trying to maximize efficency, hence the 5 gpm pump choice.

Comments, suggestions? Thanks!

Attachments

• Screenshot_20181120-075612.png
    Screenshot_20181120-075612.png
    143.9 KB · Views: 155

Valveman

Cary Austin
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
cyclestopvalves.com